Something to learn

Careers Advice. Exam Advice. Finding Courses. Leaving School.

Subscribe to the b_line newsletter for all the latest news and exclusive discounts!

16 to 18 careers advice and guidance

Derbyshire YouthInc offers a service for 16 to 18 year-olds who are not currently in education, employment or training.

The services includes careers information, advice and guidance to help you plan your next steps. We offer free advice on local opportunities including:

  • apprenticeships
  • traineeships and courses
  • support with applications
  • writing CVs
  • preparing for interviews

Drop in sessions around Derbyshire

Amber Valley

The Polygon Youth Centre
Church Street
Alfreton

Tuesdays 1pm to 4pm.

The Somercotes Youth Centre
Somercotes Park

Thursdays 1pm to 3pm.

Contact your local personal advisers, Penny Parker, Karen Glaves and Caroline Bradshaw, to ask questions or to arrange an appointment.

email: penny.parker@derbyshire.gov.uk or caroline.bradshaw@derbyshire.gov.uk or karen.glaves@derbyshire.gov.uk

Tel: 01629 533625

Bolsover north east

Creswell Youth Centre
Colliery Road
Creswell
S80 4BX

Tel: 01909 722759

Every Tuesday between noon and 2pm.

Contact: Kimberly Goodwin, email: kimberly.goodwin@derbyshire.gov.uk or mob: 07737 845 455
Jenny Hallam, email: jenny.hallam@derbyshire.gov.uk or mob: 07583 164532
Jayne Tuck, email: jayne.tuck@derbyshire.gov.uk or mob: 07794 242644

Eckington Library
Market Street
Eckington
Derbyshire
S21 4JG

Thursdays 2pm to 4pm.

Contact Marcus Degg, email: marcus.degg@derbyshire.gov.uk or mob: 07919 552788 or tel: 01629 537169.

Killamarsh Youth Club
Stanley Street
Killamarsh
Sheffield
S21 1EL

Tuesdays 11am to 1.30pm.

Contact Marcus Degg, email: marcus.degg@derbyshire.gov.uk or mob: 07919 552788 or tel: 01629 537169.

Clay Cross
The Youth Suite
Clay Cross Adult Education Centre
Market Street
S45 9JE

Every Wednesday 10am to noon.

Contact: Andy Vickers, personal adviser, tel: 01629 537296.

Bolsover
The Pyramid
4 High Street
Bolsover
S44 6DF

Thursdays 9.30am to 12.30pm

For more information or to book an appointment contact Lawrence Jackson, email: lawrence.jackson@derbyshire.gov.uk or mob: 07748 883357 or tel: 01629 537070.

Shirebrook Adult Education Centre
Carter Lane
Shirebrook
NG20 8PE

Friday 10am to noon.

Contact Marie Hudson, email:marie.hudson@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 537398 or mob: 07787 105506.

South Normanton Library
The Hub
Shiners Way
DE55 2AA

Tuesday between 2 and 4pm

For more information or an appointment please contact:

Lynne Frier, email: lynne.frier@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533216 or mob: 07717 505890
Vicki Kirk, email: victoria.kirk@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533216 or mob: 07854 652541

Pinxton Youth Centre
Kirkstead Road
NG16 6NA

Thursday between 3 and 5pm

For more information or an appointment please contact:

Lynne Frier, email: lynne.frier@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533216 or mob: 07717 505890
Vicki Kirk, email: victoria.kirk@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533216 or mob: 07854 652541

Tibshelf Village Hall
110, High Street
Tibshelf
DE55 5NU

Alternate Wednesdays between 2 and 4pm

For more information or an appointment please contact:

Lynne Frier, email: lynne.frier@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533216 or mob: 07717 505890
Vicki Kirk, email: victoria.kirk@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533216 or mob: 07854 652541

Chesterfield

Chesterfield Library
Beetwell Street
Chesterfield
S40 1QN

Tuesday 9.30am to 12.30pm
Wednesday 9.30am to 12.30pm
Thursday 12.30pm to 4.30pm

email: chesterfield.youthinc@derbyshire.gov.uk
Mob: 07794 242535

Erewash

Ilkeston Library
Market Street
Ilkeston
DE7 5RN

Thursday 10am to 1pm.

Please contact Jo, Jen or Shelly to book an appointment tel: 01629 532641.

High Peak and north dales

To book an appointment contact:

Fabio Feroleto, MAT PA
Area Education Centre
Kents Bank Road
Buxton
Derbyshire
SK17 9HR

email: fabio.feroleto@derbyshire.gov.uk
Tel: 01629 533502
Mob: 07709 330210

South Derbyshire and south dales

Ashbourne and Etwall

To book an appointment please contact Debbie Clarke, email: debbie.clarke@derbyshire.gov.uk or Julie Rayner, email: julie.rayner@derbyshire.gov.uk or tel: 01629 533650.

Newhall, Woodville and Swadlincote

To book an appointment please contact Mal Malooq, email: Mohammed.Malooq@derbyshire.gov.uk Amanda Muller, email: Amanda.muller@derbyshire.gov.uk or Tracey Wells, email: Tracey.Wells@derbyshire.gov.uk.

Or contact us on tel: 01629 533586.